Concentration of CO2 in the Atmosphere

No Fossil Fuel Money Pledge

Dirty fossil fuel money is corrupting our political system and blocking bold action on climate change. Now more than ever, Vermonters need elected officials who are willing to be bold leaders and take meaningful action towards reducing our dependence on dirty energy and fossil fuels.

That’s why in 2018, VPIRG is working with national partners in asking all candidates for elected office in Vermont to sign the No Fossil Fuel Money Pledge. The pledge states:

“I pledge not to take contributions from the oil, gas, and coal industry and instead prioritize the health of our families, climate, and democracy over fossil fuel industry profits.”

Check out the list of 50+ Vermont candidates for office that have already taken the pledge.

Fossil fuel companies spent more than $260 million on campaign contributions during the 2016 election cycle — and Vermont is certainly not immune from the corrupting effects of fossil fuel money.

Despite broad consensus that we must transition away from dirty fossil fuels, Vermont’s greenhouse gas emissions continue to rise. From reduced snowfall, to extreme weather events and increased energy costs, Vermonters are already feeling the effects of climate change.

Climate action can’t wait. We need elected officials who are leaders in fighting for climate action, economic justice and the public interest — not beholden to the fossil fuel industry’s interests.

So check out the list of Vermont candidates who have already taken the No Fossil Fuel money Pledge.

Then help us build that list by contacting Vermont candidates for office and telling them to take the No Fossil Fuel Money Pledge at


Ben Edgerly Walsh
Climate and Energy Program Director, VPIRG

PS — The Vermont Primary Election is coming up in just a few days on Tuesday, August 14th — Don’t forget to get out and VOTE!

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>