Concentration of CO2 in the Atmosphere

NH Electric Co-op Board Chair Wins Aiken Award

Earl Hansen, Chairman of the New Hampshire Electric Cooperative Board of Directors (NHEC), has won the 2016 George D. Aiken Award for his achievements in the rural electric power industry.
Presented annually by the Northeast Association of Electric Cooperatives (NEAEC), the Aiken Award recognizes individuals who exemplify the ideals and practices of George D. Aiken, a Vermont native, governor and US Senator for 34 years. His vision and action were instrumental in the conception and implementation of the Rural Electrification Administration which President Franklin D. Roosevelt signed into law in 1935.
Hansen was a NHEC employee for 20 years before retiring and being elected to the NHEC Board of Directors. His fellow Board members have nominated him as Chair for the past 13 years. In his employment career, Hansen gained a broad knowledge of the industry by serving NHEC in a variety of capacities, including cost accounting, right of way, easements, line extensions, wind generator siting, inventory, joint use facilitation (telephone & cable pole attachments), economic development and member relations.  Before his retirement, Hansen spent a number of years focusing on legislative issues and lobbied for NHEC on the local, state and federal levels.
“During his time on the Board, Earl has helped our members achieve their renewable energy goals by supporting incentive programs and positioning NHEC as a leader in the development of alternative energy,” said NHEC President/CEO Steve Camerino. “At the same time, he’s balanced the need to improve the reliability of our distribution system while keeping rates affordable.”
Hansen, who will retire from the NHEC Board in June, is a U.S. Navy veteran whose eight years of submarine experience provided hands-on experience with many types of electric generation including diesel, nuclear, steam and gas turbines.  He is very active in his community, serving the Town of Holderness as a member of the Board of Selectmen, the Planning Board (34 years, 24 as Chair), Deputy Chief of the Fire Department (38 years as volunteer Firefighter, 20 as Deputy), Conservation Commissioner (four years as Chair), a Boy Scout Master and Director of Emergency Management. Hansen’s contributions to the Cooperative community include serving as Director on the National Renewables Cooperative Organization (NRCO), Board Member of the NHEC Foundation and as a member of the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association’s Legislative Committee and the Cooperative Finance Corporation Nominating Committee. He is a Credentialed Cooperative Director and has earned his Board Leadership Certificate from NRECA.  
NHEC is a member-owned electric distribution cooperative serving 84,000 homes and businesses in 115 New Hampshire communities.
Photo below:  NHEC Board Chair Earl Hansen, right, was presented the 2016 Aiken Award for his contributions to the electric cooperative industry. Joining Hansen was NHEC President/CEO Steve Camerino and NHEC Vice President of Corporate & Member Services/CFO Dena Lee DeLucca.
Earl Hansen_2016 Aiken Award


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>