Get Email Updates!

Concentration of CO2 in the Atmosphere

Clean Energy NH Award Winners

Clean Energy NH Announces 2019 Award Winners

Clean Energy Champion of the Year, Clean Tech Business of the Year Awardees Recognized at Annual Member Holiday Dinner

Concord, NH – Clean Energy NH, the Granite State’s leading clean energy advocate and educator, held its third annual Member Holiday Dinner on December 11th and announced the winners of its annual awards.

The event was held at the law offices of member firm Sheehan Phinney in Manchester and welcomed members from the state’s most distinguished clean technology companies ranging from renewable energy generation, engineering, consulting, energy efficiency, legal, financial, and beyond. Over sixty members gathered at the sold-out dinner to network and recap the state’s challenges and successes in 2019.

The highlight of the event was the award ceremony, during which the nominees and winners for each award were announced.

The Clean Energy Champion of the Year Award was established in 2017. The award is presented annually to a Clean Energy NH member that has gone above-and-beyond in their support and engagement with the organization and demonstrates a leadership role in the transition to a clean energy future. Nominees included Chris Skoglund of the NH Department of Environmental Services, Julia Griffin, Manager of the Town of Hanover, and Lebanon City Councilor Clifton Below, and the winner, Tony Giunta of The Nobis Group. For over 20 years, Tony Giunta has made renewable energy a priority-and throughout his career has been a tireless advocate for vital state level clean energy policies, including the expansion of the net metering cap. He is a recognized leader in the field and also gives back through public service as Mayor of the City of Franklin.

“I’m very grateful and honored to receive this prestigious award from such a distinguished dedicated organization. My continuing drive to move New Hampshire toward a clean energy future has been a multi-team effort of which my co-workers at The Nobis Group and staff at Clean Energy NH have played a significant role. Again, my sincerest thanks to Clean Energy NH for this humbling recognition.”

The Clean Tech Business of the Year Award was also established in 2017. This award is presented annually to a Clean Energy NH business member that demonstrates excellence in their clean tech industry sector and continues to support the work and mission of Clean Energy NH through their engagement with the organization and their commitment to their work. Nominees for the award included GDS Associates with offices in Manchester, Froling Energy of Peterborough, and Barrington Power of Barrington, and the winner, Affinity LED Lighting of Dover, NH. Affinity LED Lighting has helped 40 NH cities and towns save money by converting to LED streetlights, and employs veterans at their Dover, NH office.

Also at the event, Clean Energy NH recognized, with its special Distinguished Leadership and Service Award, Ted Vansant of New England Commercial Solar Services who has served as Board Chair for 6 years, and is stepping down after serving two 3-year terms. Vansant leaves the Board at the end of 2019, handing the Chair position to fellow Board member Charlie Niebling of Innovative Natural Resources Solutions.

“I have been honored to serve as Clean Energy NH’s Board Chair to witness the organization’s growth and expansion over the past several years. With the magnitude of the issues that clean energy addresses only rising in significance, Clean Energy NH is well-poised to make a lasting impact for a stronger NH economy and healthier future for our citizens, and I look forward to remaining involved and supportive of this important work,” says Vansant.


Clean Energy NH’s mission is to promote clean energy and technologies through education and advocacy for a stronger economic future. Learn more at


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>