Get Email Updates!

Concentration of CO2 in the Atmosphere

Vermont Prohibited Idling of Motor Vehicles Law effective May 5, 2014

Montpelier, Vermont, May 5, 2014 – Vermont’s prohibited idling of motor vehicles law takes effect May 5, 2014. This law applies to all motor vehicles. It limits the idling of vehicles to five minutes in any 60-minute period. A penalty of $10.00 will be assessed for a first violation; $50.00 for a second violation; $100.00 for a third and subsequent violations.

There are exceptions to the five-minute limit, including but not limited to:

  • Police, fire or emergency vehicle idling
  • Commercial bus idling when passengers are on board
  • Idling to ensure adequate windshield defrosting
  • Idling to power work-related operations for trucks
  • Idling for sleeper berth purposes
  • Idling for maintenance, repair, service or diagnostic purposes
  • Idling on private property for vehicles of 10,000 pounds or less

To read the full law, Google: “Prohibited idling of motor vehicles” or visit:

For more information about idling laws, facts, and the significant benefits in avoiding unnecessary idling, visit

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>