Concentration of CO2 in the Atmosphere

Three Vermonters Recognized as Renewable Energy Leaders at Annual Conference

Burlington, VT — Renewable Energy Vermont (REV) recognized three Vermonters for their outstanding efforts in the renewable energy sector this year at Renewable Energy 2013: Community Solutions for Vermont, an annual gathering of renewable energy business leaders, State and local officials, and environmental organizations.

This year’s awardees included:

Renewable Energy Legislative Award: Senator David Zuckerman was recognized for his outstanding work in the Vermont Legislature this year in advancing renewable energy legislation. Zuckerman was instrumental in stopping a Senate bill that would have put a three-year moratorium on wind development in Vermont. His foresight and quick action resulted in a solution that kept wind development and renewables in general on the table, while allowing the conversation about permitting to continue – developing a compromise that allowed legislators to move forward.

Renewable Energy Industry Award: REV honored a pioneer in renewable energy development in Vermont, John Zimmermann, of Vermont Environmental Research Associates (VERA). Zimmerman has been working to harness and capture wind energy since the mid 1980s. REV recognized his dedication and work in the research, design, implementation, and construction of wind farms throughout Vermont.

Jim Grundy Award: This award was established in 2011, in heartfelt response to the too early and untimely passing of Jim Grundy, a founder of REV, a renewable designer and businessman, beloved husband, family and community member, who was known for his integrity of spirit, kindness of soul and ingenuity and craftsmanship in renewable energy technologies. REV recognized Duncan McDougal and Waterbury LEAP (Local Energy Action Partnership) for his willingness to give tirelessly to the effort of advancing a sustainable energy future in their local community.

“The Annual Renewable Energy Awards allow us to recognize local leaders in the renewable energy sector,” said Gabrielle Stebbins, REV’s Executive Director.  “This year’s awardees have all contributed significantly to the sustainable energy future of Vermont. Their dedication and character and frankly, their perseverance have proven to be an enormous asset to the renewable energy sector.”

About Renewable Energy Vermont (REV)

REV is Vermont’s only non-profit, non-partisan renewable energy trade association working to reduce our dependence on traditional energy and expanding the availability of renewable sources of energy throughout the state and region. For more information, visit or call (802) 229-0099.

1 comment to Three Vermonters Recognized as Renewable Energy Leaders at Annual Conference

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>