Concentration of CO2 in the Atmosphere

GMP a finalist for national solar award

COLCHESTER, VT – Green Mountain Power has been selected as one of three finalists for the Solar Electric Power Association’s (SEPA) 2013 Utility of the Year award.  GMP was nominated in recognition of its initiative to make Rutland the Solar Capital of New England.

The recipient of the 2013 award will be chosen by a panel of expert judges for having demonstrated an outstanding contribution to the advancement of utility solar.  The award will be presented at SEPA’s annual membership meeting in Chicago in late October.

“We’re really pleased to be a finalist for this award,” GMP President and CEO Mary Powell said.  “GMP has a strong record in solar development and integration, and we see solar as a key element of our efforts for delivering what our customers want with innovation, customer service and reliability.  What we learn in our Rutland pilot projects will be used to benefit all of our customers statewide.”

This week GMP announced an expansion of its solar goal in Rutland from 6.25 megawatts of solar generation to 10 megawatts by the end of 2015.  The company does not know who nominated GMP for the award, but numerous solar developers sent letters of support to SEPA.

“GMP has been a steadfast leader in our industry’s mission to expand solar adoption throughout the state and nationally,” wrote Andrew Savage of All-Earth Renewables in Williston, VT.  “We can think of no better recipient for your annual utility award.”

SEPA is an educational non-profit dedicated to helping utilities integrate solar power into their energy portfolios for the benefit of the utility, its customers and the public good. With more than 1,000 utility and solar industry members, SEPA provides unbiased utility solar market intelligence, up-to-date information about technologies and business models, and peer-to-peer interaction, including hosting national events.

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>