Concentration of CO2 in the Atmosphere

Nobel Laureates Speak Out Against Keystone XL Pipeline

Reposted from theenergycollective:

An advertisement in the Washington Post featured a letter from ten Nobel Laureates who are asking President Obama and Secretary of State John Kerry to reject the Keystone XL tar sands pipeline based on its significant impact to the climate.  The advertisement sponsored by NRDC, the Nobel Women’s Initiative, and Environmental Defence Canada reproduced the letter in full which said “as leaders who have spoken out strongly on these issues, we urge you, once again, to be on the right side of history and send a clear message that you are serious about moving beyond dirty oil.”

Read more at theenergycollective:

The ten signing the letter include the following:

Mairead Maguire, Nobel Peace Prize, 1976
Betty Williams, Nobel Peace Prize, 1976
Adolfo Pérez Esquivel, Nobel Peace Prize 1980
Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Nobel Peace Prize 1984
Rigoberta Menchú Tum, Nobel Peace Prize, 1992
José Ramos-Horta, Nobel Peace Prize, 1996
Jody Williams, Nobel Peace Prize, 1997
Shirin Ebadi, Nobel Peace Prize, 2003.
Leymah Gbowee, Nobel Peace Prize, 2011
Tawakkol Karman, Nobel Peace Prize, 2011


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>